The MIT Global Diversity Lab is based in the Department of Political Science. Within our ranks are leading faculty with wide regional expertise; research skills in experimental, statistical, historical/case-study, machine learning, and field-based methods; and experience conducting research and teaching in related substantive and methodological courses. We span the traditional disciplinary Political Science subfields of Comparative Politics, International Relations and American Politics.


Volha Charnysh

Assistant Professor

Fotini Christia

Professor of Political Science, Director of MIT Sociotechnical Systems Research Center (SSRC)

Evan Lieberman (Director)

Total Professor of Political Science and Contemporary Africa

Asya Magazinnik

Assistant Professor

Melissa Nobles

Professor of Political Science, Kenan Sahin Dean of the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences

Ariel White

Silverman: (1968) Family Career Development Associate Professor of Political Science


Paige Bollen

Ph.D. Candidate

Matt Cancian

Ph.D. Candidate

Jasmine English

Ph.D. Candidate

Esteban Fernandez

Ph.D. Candidate

Rori Lelalake

Ph.D. Candidate

Lab Manager

Nicolas Studen

Senior Research Support Associate


Ilma Aamir

Wellesley College, Political Science and Biological Sciences, 2023

Darien Brown

Tuskegee University, Political Science, 2021

Jayden Graham-White

Tuskegee University, Political Science, 2021

Sarah Green

Wellesley College, Political Science, 2022

Jennah Haque

MIT, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, 2021

Sinoxolo Hashe

University of the Western Cape (South Africa), Education (Honours), 2023

Uma Ilavarasan

Ph.D. Candidate (Harvard Government)

Brian Liu

MIT; Computer Science, Economics, and Data Science; 2024

Aerin Lo

Deerfield Academy, 2022

Kenza M’Haimdat

Wellesley College, International Relations and Environmental Studies, 2021

Elijah Neil

Morehouse College, Political Science, 2021

Sharon Opara-Ndudu

MIT, Biological Engineering, 2022

Betty Qian

Wellesley College, Political Science and Economics, 2023
%d bloggers like this: